Translate Page
seal
SCHOOL FAST FACTS

School Contact Information

  • Address: 442 East Houston, Room 316, New York, NY 10002
  • Phone: 212-388-0241
  • Fax: 212-388-1086

School Hours

  • Breakfast: 7:20 AM
  • School Hours: 8:00 AM-4:00 PM
  • Wednesday Dismissal: 2:15 PM

Grades Served

Kindergarten-4th Grade

After School Programming

Girls Prep LES Elementary School partners with Roads to Success to provide optional after school programming from 3:45-6:00 PM Monday through Friday, and accommodates early dismissal on Wednesdays. The program offers drama, ballet, and visual and environmental arts. For more information or to enroll a student, please contact Rick Wagner at rick@roadstosuccess.org or 646-655-0175.

Transportation

Girls Prep Lower East Side Elementary offers yellow bus service, which is provided by the NYC Department of Education’s Office of Pupil Transportation (OPT). Please call the school's main office for more information: 212-388-0241.

Uniforms

GIRLS PREP ELEMENTARY SCHOOL   

  Grades K-2

  • Navy blue jumper with the Girls Prep logo
  • White Girls Prep shirt with the Girls Prep Logo in long or short sleeves

Big Sisters (3-4):

  • Navy blue skort or kilt with the Girls Prep logo or navy blue slacks (note that blue slacks may be from any uniform store)
  • Solid navy blue uniform pants or capris, Bermuda shorts, (no more than 2 inches above the knee “Rule of Thumb”); may be purchased through Flynn & O’Hara or your local retailer
  • White Girls Prep shirt with the Girls Prep Logo in long or short sleeves

All students:

  • Navy blue sweater (no hoodies)
  • Leggings (any color) or navy blue shorts under their jumper or skirt.
  • Socks or stockings must be worn every day. Students may wear socks or stockings in the color(s) of their choice.

Shoes:

  • Must be appropriate for active play and physical education; “Safe Shoes”
  • Closed toes and rubber soles
  • Must fit properly
  • Be held on the foot with laces, Velcro, or a strap
  • Sneakers are an excellent choice
  • Light-up sneakers, high heels, wheels, added accessories to shoe laces, and sneakers that go higher than the ankle are prohibited

Note: Absolutely no jeans, sweatpants, yoga pants or slacks of a different color are permitted. For their safety, students will not be permitted to participate in physical education or recess without proper footwear. Students may wear boots to school, however, they must change into the appropriate footwear once they are in school.

All scholars must wear a Girls Prep uniform every day. To find store locations and order online visit www.flynnohara.com.

WELCOME FROM THE PRINCIPAL

Dear Girls Prep families,

Welcome to Girls Prep! I am thrilled to be leading the flagship (K-4) campus of the first tuition-free, all-girls public charter school in New York City alongside Lacy Reed, Principal of Girls Prep Middle School. When I began working at Girls Prep in 2011, I was drawn to its mission to provide a high-quality education to girls to support their success on the path to and through college. I have been consistently impressed by the level of commitment shown by our students, families, and staff to create strong educational outcomes for our scholars.

This year we are celebrating 12 years of providing a unique and exciting educational choice to our students and families. Girls Prep scholars consistently demonstrate our 4 core values of merit, scholarship, sisterhood, and responsibility whether it be in their classroom, on the stage during a performance, during recess, or when in their community. Girls Prep scholars are consistently included in leadership programs that place students into private schools such as TEAK, Prep for Prep, and A Better Chance. Additionally, 2017 marked the 5th consecutive year that 100% of the Girls Prep graduating 8th grade scholars were accepted into “right-fit”, high quality high schools who will continue to support their path to and through college.

As you walk through our school building, you will notice that our classrooms are named after famous women such as Brenda Berkman, Billie Jean King, and Mae Jemison. These women serve as influential role models to our students, reminding them that hard work can lead to magnificent outcomes. Throughout the day at our school, our faculty is committed to providing a rigorous, holistic education that includes reading, writing, social studies, math, and science as well as social-emotional learning, the arts and fitness. Our program includes:

  • Dedicated Math and ELA teachers in Grades 3 and 4
  • Daily Science classes taught by dedicated Science teachers
  • Daily small group instruction to support the needs of all students
  • On-site after school program in partnership with Roads to Success
  • Chorus and Art clubs
  • Chess in Grades 2-4
  • A daily recess that provides our students with opportunity for physical activity and play
  • A daily Morning Meeting to provide create a strong, positive culture in classrooms
  • Unity Meetings to celebrate student achievement and support our culture
  • Partnerships with programs such as Leave It Better, Bubble Foundation, and the National Dance Institute

Girls Prep Lower East Side is part of Public Prep, the nation’s only non-profit network that exclusively develops exceptional, tuition-free PreK and single-sex elementary and middle public schools. We are determined to graduate 8th grade scholars who thrive in “right-fit,” high-performing public, private, or parochial high schools, and ultimately earn a degree from a four-year college or university.

Thank you for your interest in Girls Prep Lower East Side Elementary School!

Rebekah Adamek, Principal


MEET OUR SCHOOL LEADERSHIP TEAM
Rebekah Adamek

Rebekah Adamek

Principal
Mahmoud Fleary

Mahmoud Fleary

Director of Operations
Katrina Liebst

Katrina Liebst

Upper Elementary Academic Director
Amanda Majeed

Amanda Majeed

Lower Elementary Academic Director
Kamilah Pascal-Grandu

Kamilah Pascal-Grandu

Dean of Culture
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jul 1
Mon, Jul 2
Tue, Jul 3
Wed, Jul 4
Thu, Jul 5
Fri, Jul 6
Sat, Jul 7
Sun, Jul 8
Mon, Jul 9
Tue, Jul 10
Wed, Jul 11
Thu, Jul 12
Fri, Jul 13
Sat, Jul 14
Sun, Jul 15
Mon, Jul 16
Tue, Jul 17
Wed, Jul 18
Thu, Jul 19
Fri, Jul 20
Sat, Jul 21
Sun, Jul 22
Mon, Jul 23
Tue, Jul 24
Wed, Jul 25
Thu, Jul 26
Fri, Jul 27
Sat, Jul 28
Sun, Jul 29
Mon, Jul 30
Tue, Jul 31
Wed, Aug 1
Thu, Aug 2
Fri, Aug 3
Sat, Aug 4