Translate Page
seal

SCHOOL FAST FACTS

School Contact Information

  • Address: 420 East 12th Street, Room 103, New York, NY 10009 (entrance is on 11th Street)
  • Phone: 212-358-8216
  • Fax: 212-358-8219

 

School Hours

  • Breakfast: 8:30 AM
  • School Hours: 8:40 AM-4:25 PM
  • Wednesday Dismissal: 2:15 PM

Grades Served

5th-8th Grade

After School Programming

Girls Prep LES Middle School provides a free after school program for students until 6 PM, and accommodates early dismissal on Wednesdays. The program includes dance, dramatic arts, chess, math club, engineering, and more. Please contact Ms. Latoya McCalla (Lmccalla@girlsprep.org) if you are interested in enrolling your 6th-8th grade daughter in our after-school program.

Transportation

Girls Prep LES Middle School provides student Metrocards, provided by the NYC Department of Education. For more information, please visit this page.

Uniforms

Grades 5-8

Top

  • White oxford shirt, white polo shirt, or purple polo shirt (with Girls Prep logo), and optional navy cardigan/fleece (plain or with logo)

Bottom

  • Navy skort, navy kilt, navy blue pants (with Girls Prep logo)

Shoes

  •  All black or navy, flat rubber sole, closed toe shoes or sneakers (light-up sneakers, high heels, wheels, added accessories to shoe laces, and sneakers that go higher than the ankle are prohibited)

Stockings/Socks

  • Blue, black or white stockings, knee highs, leggings (for skirts/kilts) or any color socks

Note: No jeans, sweatpants, yoga pants or slacks of a different color are permitted. For their safety, students will not be permitted to participate in physical education or recess without proper footwear. Students may wear boots to school, however, they must change into the appropriate footwear once they are in school. All scholars must wear a Girls Prep uniform every day. To find store locations and order online visit www.flynnohara.com.

Summer Homework 2018

 

Dear Girls Prep Lower East Side Middle School Families,

Welcome to the 2018-19 school year at Girls Prep Lower East Side Middle School! I am honored to lead the 5th-8th grade middle school campus of NYC's first all-girls, tuition free, public charter school in the vibrant and diverse Lower East Side community, and to work alongside Rebekah Adamek, Principal of Girls Prep Lower East Side Elementary School. When I joined this team in 2013 as the 7th grade English teacher, I was drawn to our network’s commitment to create a “warm and joyful culture of rigor” and to graduate alumna who are empowered to make choices that will make our world a better place. At Girls Prep, we know the importance of educating girls in our society, of cultivating their voices and confidence, so that when they leave our doors they are prepared to face any challenge that comes their way. It is because of my commitment to our mission that I chose to teach at Girls Prep and why I feel humbled and privileged to lead this community.  

When you walk into our building, you will see and hear how our students and staff live our mission everyday. You will hear scholars  engaging in text based discussions, thinking critically about what they have read, and crafting arguments rooted in evidence. You will see our scholars working in collaborative groups to solve real-world problems and challenging each others’ thinking. You will see our commitment to STEM as our scholars engage in daily science classes where they apply their core body of knowledge in hands-on experiments and lab work on the BioBus. You may also see our 8th graders learning computer science through our partnership with Cornell Tech. This commitment to STEM has led to 100% of our scholars passing the Living Environments and Algebra 1 Regents Exams. You will also see the photos and words of our namesakes that include Maya Angelou, Michelle Obama, Hillary Clinton, and Sandra Cisneros; authors, poets, activists, and changemakers who have made this world a better place, and in whom our girls can see themselves and the possibilities that lie ahead. You will hear students and staff speaking about and demonstrating our core values of sisterhood, merit, responsibility, and scholarship. It is these core values that ground us as a community and build the strong character needed for our scholars to face any obstacle with resilience.

It is because our scholars are challenged to think and work hard every day that they are prepared to excel in leadership development programs that place scholars in top performing schools. These programs include Prep for Prep, TEAK, Breakthrough, Oliver Scholars, and A Better Chance. Our scholars also have access to pre-college immersive experiences at Cornell University and Stephens College, which has a 4-year full scholarship reserved annually for a Public Prep alumna, and at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland. Moreover, 2018 also marks the sixth consecutive year in which 100% of the Girls Prep 8th grade graduating scholars were accepted into high-quality, "right-fit" college-prep high schools that will ensure the scholars remain on a path to college completion. Girls Prep alumna now attend 33 of the top nationally ranked public high schools in NYC (by US News & World Report) and a range of top parochial, private and public high schools, including Phillips Exeter Academy, Deerfield Academy, Bard Early College High School, Manhattan/Hunter Science School, Beacon, and Sacred Heart Academy.

On behalf of our entire team, I’d like to thank you for partnering with us for what will be an incredible school year together and entrusting us with the people you hold most dear. Our North Star to College Completion is only possible because of the commitment of students, families, and staff to work together along this journey. I could not be more excited to get to know your family. I look forward to seeing you at our upcoming family events, so mark your calendars for our Lemonade Social (Wednesday, September 5th) and Open School Night (Thursday, September 20th).

 

Looking forward to a great year together!

 

 

Jessica Strong

Principal, Girls Prep Lower East Side Middle School

MEET OUR SCHOOL LEADERSHIP TEAM
Alexandra Cardasis

Alexandra Cardasis

Academic Director of Humanities
Nahrin Chowdhury

Nahrin Chowdhury

Academic Director of STEM
Lauren Faust

Lauren Faust

Director of Student and Family Affairs
Serena Ruiz

Serena Ruiz

Director of Operations
Jessica Strong

Jessica Strong

Principal

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Aug 26
Mon, Aug 27
Tue, Aug 28
Wed, Aug 29
Thu, Aug 30
Fri, Aug 31
Sat, Sep 1
Sun, Sep 2
Mon, Sep 3
Wed, Sep 5
Lemonade Social Family Event
-
420 E 12th Street Ny, Ny 10009
Thu, Sep 6
Fri, Sep 7
Sat, Sep 8
Sun, Sep 9
Tue, Sep 11
Wed, Sep 12
Thu, Sep 13
Fri, Sep 14
Sat, Sep 15
Sun, Sep 16
Mon, Sep 17
Tue, Sep 18
Wed, Sep 19
Thu, Sep 20
Fri, Sep 21
Sat, Sep 22
Sun, Sep 23
Mon, Sep 24
Tue, Sep 25
Wed, Sep 26
Thu, Sep 27
Fri, Sep 28
Sat, Sep 29
Sun, Sep 30
Mon, Oct 1
Tue, Oct 2
Wed, Oct 3
Thu, Oct 4
Fri, Oct 5
Sat, Oct 6